Search for Wisconsin marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $80-$120; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 5 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Wisconsin, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Wisconsin residents must apply in the county in which they reside. Non-residents should apply in the county where they plan to marry. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the County Clerk to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Wisconsin?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You must apply in the county where you reside, if you are a Wisconsin resident, or where you plan to marry, if you are not a resident. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Wisconsin?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $80 and $120, depending on the county.
How old do you have to be to get married in Wisconsin?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Wisconsin. Individuals who are under the age of 18 must have the consent of both parents or legal guardians.
Can you get married under 18 in Wisconsin?
Yes. Minors who have reached the age of 16 can get married in Wisconsin with the consent of both parents or legal guardians. The parents must appear in person at the County Clerk's Office to fill out a consent form, which they must sign and have notarized by the County Clerk. The minimum age to marry in Wisconsin is 16 years.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Wisconsin.
Who can legally marry you in Wisconsin?
The state of Wisconsin recognizes certain individuals as approved wedding officiants. This includes religious authorities as well as some government officials, such as judges or court commissioners. Couples can also self-solemnize their marriage in accordance with the rules of their religious society or organization. Ministers, priests, and other clergy do not need to receive any special license to perform weddings in Wisconsin.
Do you need a witness to get married?
Yes. In Wisconsin, two witnesses over the age of 18 must be present at the marriage ceremony. These witnesses must sign the marriage license, along with the officiant and the couple.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Wisconsin?
There is a 5 day waiting period in Wisconsin between submitting an application for a marriage license and when the license is valid. The waiting period can be waived by filling out a waiver and paying an additional fee. You must perform the ceremony before the license expires. The marriage license is valid for 30 days.
What do you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Wisconsin marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Wisconsin, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, previous marriages must be disclosed on the marriage license application, and Wisconsin requires certified proof of the end of previous marriages in the form of a divorce decree or death certificate.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Wisconsin.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Wisconsin?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Wisconsin.
Can you marry your cousin?
No. It is not legal to marry your first cousin in Wisconsin.
Is Wisconsin a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of Wisconsin.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Wisconsin state or county government, the Wisconsin Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.