Door County Marriage Licenses

Search for Door County WI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Door County Marriage License 421 Nebraska Street Sturgeon Bay WI 54235 920-746-2200


Baileys Harbor Town Hall 2392 County Road East Baileys Harbor WI 54202 920-839-9509

Clay Banks Town Hall 6098 County Road S Sturgeon Bay WI 54235 920-746-9617

Door County Clerk 421 Nebraska Street Sturgeon Bay WI 54235 920-746-2200

Door County Health Department 421 Nebraska Street Sturgeon Bay WI 54235 920-746-2234

Egg Harbor Town Hall 5242 COUNTY Rd Sturgeon Bay WI 54235 920-743-6141

Forestville Town Hall 7705 COUNTY Rd Sturgeon Bay WI 54235 920-856-6584

Gibraltar Clerk 4097 Wisconsin 42 Fish Creek WI 54212 920-868-1714

Liberty Grove Town Hall 11161 Old Stage Road Sister Bay WI 54234 920-854-2934

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent

3. Cost/fees: $80-$120; varies by county

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 30 days

9. Waiting Period: 5 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Door County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Wisconsin, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Wisconsin residents must apply in the county in which they reside. Non-residents should apply in the county where they plan to marry. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the County Clerk to be recorded.

How do I get a marriage license in Door County, Wisconsin?

You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You must apply in the county where you reside, if you are a Wisconsin resident, or where you plan to marry, if you are not a resident. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Wisconsin?

A marriage license can cost anywhere between $80 and $120, depending on the county.

How old do you have to be to get married in Door County?

You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Wisconsin. Individuals who are under the age of 18 must have the consent of both parents or legal guardians.