Search for Marathon County, WI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Marathon County Marriage License Marathon County Courthouse, 500 Forest Street Wausau WI 54403 715-261-1500
Athens Village Clerk 221 Caroline Street Athens WI 54411 715-257-9170
Berlin Town Hall 11248 Berlin Lane Athens WI 54411 715-675-6839
Brokaw Village Clerk 311 3rd Street Brokaw WI 54417 715-675-8712
Holton Town Hall 5513 Rosedale Avenue Abbotsford WI 54405 715-223-4240
Marathon County Clerk 500 Forest Street Wausau WI 54403 715-261-1500
Marathon County Health Department Ste 100, 1000 Lake View Dr Wausau WI 54403 715-261-1900
McMillan Town Hall 403 Elm Street Marshfield WI 54449 715-389-1338
Mosinee City Hall 225 Main Street Mosinee WI 54455 715-693-2275
Mosinee Town Hall 1104 Town Hall Road Mosinee WI 54455 715-693-3711
Norrie Town Hall N4593 Cornell Street Birnamwood WI 54414 715-449-3953
Reid Town Hall 7089 Plover River Road Hatley WI 54440 715-446-2802
Rib Falls Town Hall 1744 County Road S Edgar WI 54426 715-443-3553
Schofield City Clerk 200 Park Street Schofield WI 54476 715-359-5230
Stettin Town Clerk 11111 Stettin Drive Wausau WI 54401 715-845-3311
Stratford Village Clerk 265 North 3rd Avenue Stratford WI 54484 715-687-4166
Unity Town Clerk W1440 153 Rd Spencer WI 54479 715-659-5166
Wausau City Hall 407 Grant Street Wausau WI 54403 715-261-6500
Wausau Town Hall 7208 COUNTY Rd Wausau WI 54403 715-845-8458
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $80-$120; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 5 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Wisconsin, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Wisconsin residents must apply in the county in which they reside. Non-residents should apply in the county where they plan to marry. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the County Clerk to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Marathon County, Wisconsin?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You must apply in the county where you reside, if you are a Wisconsin resident, or where you plan to marry, if you are not a resident. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Wisconsin?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $80 and $120, depending on the county.
How old do you have to be to get married in Marathon County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Wisconsin. Individuals who are under the age of 18 must have the consent of both parents or legal guardians.