Sawyer County Marriage Licenses

Search for Sawyer County WI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Sawyer County Marriage License Sawyer County Courthouse, 10610 Main St., Suite 10 Hayward WI 54843 715-634-4866


Bass Lake Town Hall 14412 W County Rd E Hayward WI 54843 715-634-8469

Hayward Town Hall 15460 Wisconsin 77 Hayward WI 54843 715-634-4123

Lenroot Town Hall 12215 N US Highway 63 Hayward WI 54843 715-634-5673

Radisson Town Hall 3751 North Clark Street Radisson WI 54867 715-945-3040

Round Lake Clerk 10625 N County Rd S Hayward WI 54843 715-462-9271

Sawyer County Clerk PO Box 836 Hayward WI 54843 715-634-4866

Weirgor Town Hall 11039 W 3rd St Exeland WI 54835 715-943-2930

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent

3. Cost/fees: $80-$120; varies by county

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 30 days

9. Waiting Period: 5 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Sawyer County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Wisconsin, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Wisconsin residents must apply in the county in which they reside. Non-residents should apply in the county where they plan to marry. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the County Clerk to be recorded.

How do I get a marriage license in Sawyer County, Wisconsin?

You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You must apply in the county where you reside, if you are a Wisconsin resident, or where you plan to marry, if you are not a resident. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Wisconsin?

A marriage license can cost anywhere between $80 and $120, depending on the county.

How old do you have to be to get married in Sawyer County?

You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Wisconsin. Individuals who are under the age of 18 must have the consent of both parents or legal guardians.