Search for Polk County, WI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Polk County Marriage License Polk County Government Center, 100 Polk County Plaza, Suite 110 Balsam Lake WI 54810 715-485-9226
Beaver Town Hall 1541 10th Street Turtle Lake WI 54889 715-986-2315
Clayton Township Town Hall 462 105th Avenue Amery WI 54001 715-948-2564
Dresser Village Clerk 102 West Main Street Dresser WI 54009 715-755-2940
Georgetown Hall 1847 100th Street Balsam Lake WI 54810 715-857-5788
Laketown Town Hall 2153 270th Ave Cushing WI 54006 715-648-5557
Milltown City Hall 89 Main Street West Milltown WI 54858 715-825-3258
Milltown Township Clerk 2272 155th Street Milltown WI 54858 715-825-2494
Polk County Clerk 100 County Road I Balsam Lake WI 54810 715-485-9223
St Croix Falls City Clerk 710 State Highway 35 St. Croix Falls WI 54024 715-483-3929
St Croix Falls Town Hall 1303 200th Street St. Croix Falls WI 54024 715-483-1851
Vance Creek Town Hall 174 2nd Street Northwest Clear Lake WI 54005 715-263-2210
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $80-$120; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 5 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Wisconsin, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Wisconsin residents must apply in the county in which they reside. Non-residents should apply in the county where they plan to marry. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the County Clerk to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Polk County, Wisconsin?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You must apply in the county where you reside, if you are a Wisconsin resident, or where you plan to marry, if you are not a resident. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Wisconsin?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $80 and $120, depending on the county.
How old do you have to be to get married in Polk County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Wisconsin. Individuals who are under the age of 18 must have the consent of both parents or legal guardians.