Search for Monroe County, WI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Monroe County Marriage License Monroe County Administrative Center, 202 South K St., Room 2 Sparta WI 54656 608-269-8716
Clinton Town Hall S1299 County Road D Cashton WI 54619 608-654-5954
La Grange Town Hall 22731 Flint Avenue Tomah WI 54660 608-372-3594
Leon Town Hall 8108 Jackrabbit Avenue Sparta WI 54656 608-269-5873
Monroe County Clerk 202 South K Street Sparta WI 54656 608-269-8705
Ridgeville Town Clerk 309 Main Street Norwalk WI 54648 608-823-7459
Sparta City Hall 201 W Oak St Sparta WI 54656 608-269-4340
Sparta Town Hall 5724 Hamlet Ave Sparta WI 54656 608-269-4830
Tomah City Hall 805 Superior Avenue Tomah WI 54660 608-374-7420
Tomah Clerk 819 Superior Avenue Tomah WI 54660 608-374-7425
Tomah Health Department 27374 Wisconsin 21 Tomah WI 54660 608-372-5202
Wells Town Hall 11754 County Highway M Norwalk WI 54648 608-269-4391
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $80-$120; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 5 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Wisconsin, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Wisconsin residents must apply in the county in which they reside. Non-residents should apply in the county where they plan to marry. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the County Clerk to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Monroe County, Wisconsin?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You must apply in the county where you reside, if you are a Wisconsin resident, or where you plan to marry, if you are not a resident. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Wisconsin?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $80 and $120, depending on the county.
How old do you have to be to get married in Monroe County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Wisconsin. Individuals who are under the age of 18 must have the consent of both parents or legal guardians.