Vernon County Marriage Licenses

Search for Vernon County WI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Vernon County Marriage License Room 108, Courthouse Annex Viroqua WI 54665 608-637-5380


Bergen Town Clerk W645 Hillview Dr Stoddard WI 54658 608-457-6023

Christiana Town Hall 505 Saugstad Road Westby WI 54667 608-634-6544

Coon Valley Clerk 205 Anderson St Coon Valley WI 54623 608-452-3168

Hillsboro Clerk City Hall 123 Mechanic Street Hillsboro WI 54634 608-489-2521

Hillsboro Clerk City Hall 123 Mechanic Street Hillsboro WI 54634 608-489-2521

Vernon County Clerk 400 Court House Square St Ste 108 Viroqua WI 54665 608-637-5380

Vernon County Health Department 100 Fairlane Drive Viroqua WI 54665 608-637-5245

Viola Village Clerk 106 W Wisconsin St Viola WI 54664 608-627-1831

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent

3. Cost/fees: $80-$120; varies by county

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 30 days

9. Waiting Period: 5 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Vernon County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Wisconsin, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Wisconsin residents must apply in the county in which they reside. Non-residents should apply in the county where they plan to marry. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the County Clerk to be recorded.

How do I get a marriage license in Vernon County, Wisconsin?

You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You must apply in the county where you reside, if you are a Wisconsin resident, or where you plan to marry, if you are not a resident. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Wisconsin?

A marriage license can cost anywhere between $80 and $120, depending on the county.

How old do you have to be to get married in Vernon County?

You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Wisconsin. Individuals who are under the age of 18 must have the consent of both parents or legal guardians.