Search for Jefferson County, WI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Jefferson County Marriage License 311 South Center Avenue Jefferson WI 53549 920-674-8630
Cold Spring Town Hall N1409 Fremont Road Whitewater WI 53190 262-473-6227
Concord Town Hall W1185 Concord Center Drive Sullivan WI 53178 262-593-8690
Farmington Town Hall N6468 South Farmington Road Watertown WI 53094 920-699-2348
Fort Atkinson Clerk 101 South Water Street West Fort Atkinson WI 53538 920-563-7786
Ixonia Town Hall W1195 Marietta Avenue Ixonia WI 53036 920-261-1588
Jefferson County Clerk 311 South Center Avenue Jefferson WI 53549 920-674-7144
Lake Mills Town Hall 1111 South Main Street Lake Mills WI 53551 920-648-5584
Milford Town Hall W6335 COUNTY Rd Johnson Creek WI 53038 920-648-3198
Palmyra Township Clerk W1360 State Road 106 Palmyra WI 53156 262-495-2049
Waterloo City Hall 136 North Monroe Street Waterloo WI 53594 920-478-3025
Watertown City Clerk 106 Jones Street Watertown WI 53094 920-262-4009
Watertown City Hall 106 Jones Street Watertown WI 53094 920-262-4000
Watertown Health Department 515 South 1st Street Watertown WI 53094 920-262-8090
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $80-$120; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 5 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Wisconsin, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Wisconsin residents must apply in the county in which they reside. Non-residents should apply in the county where they plan to marry. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the County Clerk to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Jefferson County, Wisconsin?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You must apply in the county where you reside, if you are a Wisconsin resident, or where you plan to marry, if you are not a resident. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Wisconsin?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $80 and $120, depending on the county.
How old do you have to be to get married in Jefferson County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Wisconsin. Individuals who are under the age of 18 must have the consent of both parents or legal guardians.