Milwaukee County Marriage Licenses

Search for Milwaukee County WI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Milwaukee County Marriage License Milwaukee County Courthouse, Room 105, 901 North 9Th Street Milwaukee WI 53233 414-278-4067


Cudahy City Clerk 5050 South Lake Drive Cudahy WI 53110 414-769-2204

Cudahy Health Department 5050 South Lake Drive Cudahy WI 53110 414-769-2239

Franklin City Clerk 9229 W Loomis Rd Franklin WI 53132 414-425-7500

Franklin City Hall 9229 West Loomis Road Franklin WI 53132 414-425-1416

Franklin Health Department 9229 West Loomis Road Franklin WI 53132 414-425-9101

Glendale Clerk 5909 North Milwaukee River Parkway Glendale WI 53209 414-228-1752

Hales Corners Health Department 5885 South 116th Street Hales Corners WI 53130 414-529-6150

Milwaukee City Hall 200 East Wells Street Milwaukee WI 53202 414-286-3200

Milwaukee County Clerk 901 North 9th Street Milwaukee WI 53233 414-278-4067

Milwaukee County Health Department 1220 West Vliet Street Milwaukee WI 53205 888-947-6583

Milwaukee Health Department 841 North Broadway Milwaukee WI 53202 414-286-5987

North Shore Health Department 4800 West Green Brook Drive Brown Deer WI 53223 414-371-2980

Oak Creek City Hall 8640 South Howell Avenue Oak Creek WI 53154 414-768-6500

Oak Creek Clerk 8640 South Howell Avenue Oak Creek WI 53154 414-768-6510

Oak Creek Health Department 8640 South Howell Avenue Oak Creek WI 53154 414-768-6525

Shorewood Health Department 2010 East Shorewood Boulevard Shorewood WI 53211 414-847-2710

South Milwaukee City Hall 2424 15th Avenue South Milwaukee WI 53172 414-762-2222

St Francis City Hall 4235 South Nicholson Avenue St. Francis WI 53235 414-481-2300

West Allis Health Department 7120 West National Avenue West Allis WI 53214 414-302-8600

Whitefish Bay Health Department 1200 East Fairmount Avenue Whitefish Bay WI 53217 414-962-6648

Wisconsin State Clerk 633 West Wisconsin Avenue Milwaukee WI 53203 414-227-4680

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent

3. Cost/fees: $80-$120; varies by county

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 30 days

9. Waiting Period: 5 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Milwaukee County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Wisconsin, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Wisconsin residents must apply in the county in which they reside. Non-residents should apply in the county where they plan to marry. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the County Clerk to be recorded.

How do I get a marriage license in Milwaukee County, Wisconsin?

You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You must apply in the county where you reside, if you are a Wisconsin resident, or where you plan to marry, if you are not a resident. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Wisconsin?

A marriage license can cost anywhere between $80 and $120, depending on the county.

How old do you have to be to get married in Milwaukee County?

You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Wisconsin. Individuals who are under the age of 18 must have the consent of both parents or legal guardians.