Search for La Crosse County, WI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
La Crosse County Marriage License La Crosse County Administrative Center, 400 4Th St. North, Room 1210 La Crosse WI 54601 608-785-9581
Barre Town Hall W3541 COUNTY Rd La Crosse WI 54601 608-786-4788
Campbell Town Hall 2219 Bainbridge Street La Crosse WI 54603 608-783-1050
Farmington Town Hall N8309 State Road 108 Mindoro WI 54644 608-857-3913
French Island Town Hall 2219 Bainbridge Street La Crosse WI 54603 608-783-0050
Greenfield Town Hall N1800 Old Town Hall Road La Crosse WI 54601 608-787-0406
Hamilton Town Hall N5105 Leonard Street North West Salem WI 54669 608-786-0989
Holland Town Hall W7937 COUNTY Rd Holmen WI 54636 608-526-3354
La Crosse City Hall 400 La Crosse Street La Crosse WI 54601 608-789-7505
La Crosse County Clerk 400 4th Street North La Crosse WI 54601 608-785-9581
La Crosse County Health Department 300 4th Street North La Crosse WI 54601 608-785-9872
Medary Town Hall N3393 Smith Valley Road La Crosse WI 54601 608-781-2275
Onalaska Clerk 415 Main Street Onalaska WI 54650 608-781-9558
Onalaska Town Hall W7052 2nd St Onalaska WI 54650 608-783-4957
Shelby Town Hall 2800 Ward Avenue La Crosse WI 54601 608-788-1032
West Salem Clerk 175 Leonard Street South West Salem WI 54669 608-786-1858
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $80-$120; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 5 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Wisconsin, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Wisconsin residents must apply in the county in which they reside. Non-residents should apply in the county where they plan to marry. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the County Clerk to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in La Crosse County, Wisconsin?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You must apply in the county where you reside, if you are a Wisconsin resident, or where you plan to marry, if you are not a resident. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Wisconsin?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $80 and $120, depending on the county.
How old do you have to be to get married in La Crosse County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Wisconsin. Individuals who are under the age of 18 must have the consent of both parents or legal guardians.