Search for Portage County, WI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Portage County Marriage License 1516 Church Street Stevens Point WI 54481 715-346-1351
Almond Village Clerk 122 Main Street Almond WI 54909 715-366-8171
Amherst Town Hall 4023 COUNTY Rd Amherst Junction WI 54407 715-824-3476
Hull Town Hall 4550 Wojcik Memorial Dr Stevens Point WI 54482 715-344-8280
Lanark Town Hall 7174 County Road A Amherst WI 54406 715-256-9801
Linwood Town Hall 3160 Mill Creek Drive Stevens Point WI 54481 715-341-8898
New Hope Town Clerk 554 County Road A Amherst Junction WI 54407 715-824-7145
Plover Clerk 2400 Post Road Plover WI 54467 715-345-5250
Plover Town Hall 5081 Hoover Avenue Plover WI 54467 715-344-7684
Portage County Clerk 1516 Church Street Stevens Point WI 54481 715-346-1351
Rosholt Town Hall 137 North Main Street Rosholt WI 54473 715-677-4512
Stevens Point City Hall 1515 Strongs Avenue Stevens Point WI 54481 715-346-1556
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $80-$120; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 5 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Wisconsin, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Wisconsin residents must apply in the county in which they reside. Non-residents should apply in the county where they plan to marry. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the County Clerk to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Portage County, Wisconsin?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You must apply in the county where you reside, if you are a Wisconsin resident, or where you plan to marry, if you are not a resident. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Wisconsin?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $80 and $120, depending on the county.
How old do you have to be to get married in Portage County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Wisconsin. Individuals who are under the age of 18 must have the consent of both parents or legal guardians.