Search for Iowa marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Iowa?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.
Can you get married under 18 in Iowa? Yes. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 can get married if they submit a â€œConsent to Marry a Minorâ€ form to the District Court. The form is available at the Recorder's Office and requires the signature of the minor's parents or legal guardians and a state judge.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Iowa.
Who can legally marry you in Iowa?
In Iowa, wedding officiants must be officially recognized by the state. Officiants can be religious authorities or any justice of the peace.
Do you need a witness to get married?
Yes. Indiana requires one witness to apply for a marriage license. The state also requires two witnesses at the marriage ceremony. Witnesses must be over the age of 18.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Iowa?
After you complete the application process, there is a 72 hour waiting period to receive a marriage license in Iowa.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
In Iowa, the marriage license does not expire. However, if you do not pick up your license within six months of filing a marriage license application, it will not be valid and you will have to repeat the application process. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
If either party had a previous marriage that ended within the past 60 days, you must present evidence that the marriage ended, such as a divorce decree or a death certificate. If the marriage ended more than 60 days prior to your marriage license application, you will need to provide the name of former spouse(s), the reason the marriage ended, and the dates and location of all previous marriages.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Iowa does not permit marriage by proxy. However, it is possible to receive a marriage license if one member of the couple is not present at the Registrar's Office. The absent party can sign the license application before a Notary Public.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Iowa?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Iowa. Iowa was the fourth state to legalize same-sex marriage.
Can you marry your cousin?
No. It is not legal to marry your cousin in Iowa.
Is Iowa a common law marriage state?
Yes. Common law marriages are recognized by the state of Iowa.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Iowa state or county government, the Iowa Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.