Search for Marion County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Marion County Marriage License 214 East Main Street Knoxville IA 50138 641-828-2211
Bussey City Hall 313 5th Street Bussey IA 50044 641-944-5532
Knoxville City Hall 305 South 3rd Street Knoxville IA 50138 641-828-0550
Marion County Clerk 214 East Main Street Knoxville IA 50138 641-828-2207
Marion County Health Department 2003 North Lincoln Street Knoxville IA 50138 641-628-8399
Marion County Health Department 420 West 5th Street Pella IA 50219 641-628-8399
Melcher Dallas City Hall 305 South Main Street Melcher-Dallas IA 50163 641-947-6501
Pella City Hall 825 Broadway Street Pella IA 50219 641-628-4173
Pleasantville City Hall 108 W Jackson St Pleasantville IA 50225 515-848-3316
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Marion County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Marion County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.