Search for Delaware County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Delaware County Marriage License 301 East Main Street Manchester IA 52057 319-927-4665
Colesburg City Hall 317 Main St Colesburg IA 52035 563-856-3185
Delaware County District Judge 301 East Main Street Manchester IA 52057 563-927-4942
Delaware County Health Department 709 West Main Street Manchester IA 52057 563-927-7551
Earlville City Clerk 12 West Southside Road Earlville IA 52041 563-923-3365
Edgewood City Hall 309 Soldiers Avenue Edgewood IA 52042 563-928-6922
Greeley City Hall 210 West 3rd Street Greeley IA 52050 563-925-2988
Hopkinton City Hall 115 1st St SE Hopkinton IA 52237 563-926-2181
Manchester City Hall 208 East Main Street Manchester IA 52057 563-927-3636
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Delaware County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Delaware County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.