Search for Benton County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Benton County Marriage License 111 East 4th Street Vinton IA 52349 319-472-3309
Atkins City Hall 480 3RD Ave Atkins IA 52206 319-446-7870
Belle Plaine City Hall 1207 8th Ave Belle Plaine IA 52208 319-444-2200
Benton County Clerk 111 East 4th Street Vinton IA 52349 319-472-2766
Blairstown City Clerk 305 Locust Street Northeast Blairstown IA 52209 319-454-6931
Blairstown City Hall 309 LOCUST St NW Blairstown IA 52209 319-454-6931
Garrison City Hall 406 East Maple Street Garrison IA 52229 319-477-8353
Keystone City Hall 208 1st Street Keystone IA 52249 319-442-3246
Mt Auburn City Hall 203 2nd Street Mount Auburn IA 52313 319-475-2314
Newhall City Hall 220 1ST St E Newhall IA 52315 319-223-5709
Norway City Hall 108 Railroad Street Norway IA 52318 319-227-7351
Urbana City Hall 906 W Main St Urbana IA 52345 319-443-2400
Van Horne City Hall 115 Main Street Van Horne IA 52346 319-228-8238
Vinton City Hall 510 2nd Avenue Vinton IA 52349 319-472-4707
Walford City Hall 120 5th Street North Walford IA 52351 319-846-3103
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Benton County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Benton County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.