Search for Story County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Story County Marriage License 900 6th Street Nevada IA 50201 515-382-7230
Ames City Hall 515 Clark Avenue Ames IA 50010 515-233-2670
Ames Clerk 515 Clark Avenue Ames IA 50010 515-239-5140
Cambridge City Hall 204 Water Street Cambridge IA 50046 515-220-4541
Collins City Hall 212 Main Street Collins IA 50055 641-385-2205
Colo City Hall 209 MAIN St Colo IA 50056 641-377-2238
Gilbert City Hall 119 Main Street Gilbert IA 50105 515-233-2670
Huxley City Hall 515 North Main Avenue Huxley IA 50124 515-597-2571
Kelley City Hall 1111 Grace St Kelley IA 50134 515-769-2213
Maxwell City Hall 107 Main Street Maxwell IA 50161 515-387-8655
McCallsburg City Hall 525 Main Street McCallsburg IA 50154 515-434-2242
Nevada City Hall 1209 6th Street Nevada IA 50201 515-382-5466
Roland City Hall 202 East Ash Street Roland IA 50236 515-388-4861
Slater City Hall 105 Greene Street Slater IA 50244 515-685-2531
Story City City Hall 504 Broad Street Story IA 50248 515-733-2121
Story County Clerk 1315 South B Avenue Nevada IA 50201 515-382-7410
Story County Health Department 1114 Duff Avenue Ames IA 50010 515-239-6730
Zearing City Clerk 105 West Main Street Zearing IA 50278 641-487-7477
Zearing Town Hall 105 West Main Street Zearing IA 50278 641-487-7477
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Story County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Story County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.