Search for Scott County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Scott County Marriage License 600 West 4th Street Davenport IA 52801 563-326-8621
Bettendorf City Hall 1609 State Street Bettendorf IA 52722 563-344-4027
Blue Grass City Hall 114 North Mississippi Street Blue Grass IA 52726 563-381-4700
Buffalo City Hall 329 Dodge Street Buffalo IA 52728 563-381-2226
Davenport City Hall 226 West 4th Street Davenport IA 52801 563-326-7763
Dixon City Clerk 30590 70th Avenue Dixon IA 52745 563-843-3425
Dixon City Hall 606 Davenport Street Dixon IA 52745 563-843-3425
Donahue City Clerk 106 1st Avenue Donahue IA 52746 563-282-4161
Eldridge City Hall 305 N 3rd St Eldridge IA 52748 563-285-4841
Le Claire City Hall 325 Wisconsin St Le Claire IA 52753 563-289-4242
Long Grove City Hall 104 South 1st Street Long Grove IA 52756 563-285-4904
New Liberty City Hall 795 Main Street New Liberty IA 52765 563-843-2556
Princeton City Hall 311 3rd Street Princeton IA 52768 563-289-5315
Scott County Clerk 400 West 4th Street Davenport IA 52801 563-326-8648
Scott County Health Department 428 Western Avenue Davenport IA 52801 563-326-8618
Walcott City Hall 128 W Lincoln St Walcott IA 52773 563-284-6571
Walcott Town Hall 128 W Lincoln St Walcott IA 52773 563-284-6571
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Scott County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Scott County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.