Search for Polk County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Iowa Marriage License Iowa Department Of Public Health, 321 E. 12Th, 4Th Floor Des Moines IA 50319 515-281-4944
Polk County Marriage License 111 Court Avenue Des Moines IA 50309 515-286-3781
Altoona City Clerk 407 8th Street Southeast Altoona IA 50009 515-967-5136
Altoona City Hall 407 8th Street Southeast Altoona IA 50009 515-967-7866
Ankeny City Hall 410 West 1st Street Ankeny IA 50023 515-965-6469
Bondurant City Hall 100 Lincoln Street Southeast Bondurant IA 50035 515-967-2418
Clive City Hall 1900 Northwest 114th Street Clive IA 50325 515-223-6220
Des Moines City Clerk 400 East 1st Street Des Moines IA 50309 515-283-4141
Des Moines City Hall 400 Robert D. Ray Drive Des Moines IA 50309 515-283-4209
Grimes City Hall 101 Northeast Harvey Street Grimes IA 50111 515-986-3036
Iowa Health Department 321 East 12th Street Des Moines IA 50319 515-281-5787
Johnston City Hall 6221 Merle Hay Road Johnston IA 50131 515-278-2344
Mitchellville City Clerk 204 Center Avenue North Mitchellville IA 50169 515-967-2935
Pleasant Hill City Hall 5160 Maple Drive Pleasant Hill IA 50327 515-262-9368
Polk City City Hall 112 South 3rd Street Polk IA 50226 515-984-6233
Polk County Clerk 500 Mulberry Street Des Moines IA 50309 515-286-3772
Runnells City Hall 110 Brown Street Runnells IA 50237 515-966-2042
Sheldahl City Hall 803 2nd Street Sheldahl IA 50243 515-685-2814
Urbandale City Hall 3600 86th St Urbandale IA 50322 515-278-3900
West Des Moines City Hall 4200 Mills Civic Parkway West Des Moines IA 50265 515-222-3444
Windsor Heights City Hall 1133 66th St Windsor Heights IA 50324 515-279-3662
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Polk County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Polk County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.