Cass County Marriage Licenses

Search for Cass County IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Cass County Marriage License 5 West 7th Street Atlantic IA 50022 712-243-1692


Anita City Hall 744 Main Street Anita IA 50020 712-762-3746

Atlantic City Hall 23 East 4th Street Atlantic IA 50022 712-243-4810

Cass County Clerk 5 West 7th Street Atlantic IA 50022 563-886-2101

Cumberland City Hall 207 Main Street Cumberland IA 50843 712-774-5614

Griswold City Hall 601 2nd Street Griswold IA 51535 712-778-2615

Lewis City Clerk 416 West Main Street Lewis IA 51544 712-769-2216

Marne City Clerk 403 Washington Street Marne IA 51552 712-781-2221

Marne Town Hall 401 Washington Street Marne IA 51552 712-781-2213

Massena City Hall 100 Main Street Massena IA 50853 712-779-2295

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order

3. Cost/fees: $35

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony

8. License Valid: Does not expire

9. Waiting Period: 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: Yes

Questions/Answers about Cass County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.

How do I get a marriage license in Cass County, Iowa?

You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?

A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.

How old do you have to be to get married in Cass County?

You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.