Jackson County Marriage Licenses

Search for Jackson County IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Jackson County Marriage License 201 West Platt Street Maquoketa IA 52060 319-652-2504


Andrew City Hall 11 East Benton Street Andrew IA 52030 563-672-3570

Bellevue City Clerk 106 North 3rd Street Bellevue IA 52031 563-872-4456

Jackson County Clerk 201 West Platt Street Maquoketa IA 52060 563-652-4946

Jackson County Health Department 201 West Platt Street Maquoketa IA 52060 563-652-5658

Maquoketa City Hall 201 East Pleasant Street Maquoketa IA 52060 563-652-2484

Miles City Hall 430 Ferry Road Miles IA 52064 563-682-7618

Miles Town Hall 430 Ferry Road Miles IA 52064 563-682-7618

Preston City Hall 1 West Gillet Preston IA 52069 563-689-3081

Preston City Hall Clerk 1 West Gillet Preston IA 52069 563-689-3081

Sabula City Hall 411 Broad Street Sabula IA 52070 563-687-2420

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order

3. Cost/fees: $35

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony

8. License Valid: Does not expire

9. Waiting Period: 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: Yes

Questions/Answers about Jackson County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.

How do I get a marriage license in Jackson County, Iowa?

You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?

A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.

How old do you have to be to get married in Jackson County?

You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.