Van Buren County Marriage Licenses

Search for Van Buren County IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Birmingham City Hall 511 East Cedar Street Birmingham IA 52535 319-498-4296


Bonaparte City Hall 616 1st Street Bonaparte IA 52620 319-592-3400

Cantril City Clerk 104 3rd St W Mount Sterling IA 52573 319-397-2295

Farmington City Hall 203 Elm Street Farmington IA 52626 319-878-3711

Keosauqua City Hall 804 1st Street Keosauqua IA 52565 319-293-3536

Milton City Hall 319 North Main Street Milton IA 52570 641-656-4454

Mount Sterling City Hall 104 3rd St W Mount Sterling IA 52573 319-397-2295

Stockport City Hall 212 South Main Street Stockport IA 52651 319-796-2135

Van Buren County Clerk 406 Dodge Street Keosauqua IA 52565 319-293-3108

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order

3. Cost/fees: $35

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony

8. License Valid: Does not expire

9. Waiting Period: 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: Yes

Questions/Answers about Van Buren County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.

How do I get a marriage license in Van Buren County, Iowa?

You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?

A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.

How old do you have to be to get married in Van Buren County?

You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.