Search for Calhoun County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Calhoun County Marriage License 416 4th Street Rockwell IA 50579 712-297-8121
Calhoun County Clerk 416 4th Street Rockwell IA 50579 712-297-8122
Farnhamville Town Hall GARFIELD Ave Farnhamville IA 50538 515-544-3660
Lake City Hall 105 North Center Street Lake IA 51449 712-464-3111
Lohrville City Hall 605 2nd Street Lohrville IA 51453 712-465-2595
Manson City Clerk 1015 13th Street Manson IA 50563 712-469-3759
Pomeroy City Hall 114 South Ontario Street Pomeroy IA 50575 712-468-2311
Rockwell City Hall 335 Main Street Rockwell IA 50579 712-297-7041
Somers City Hall 602 6th Avenue Somers IA 50586 515-467-5757
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Calhoun County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Calhoun County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.