Search for Muscatine County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Muscatine County Marriage License 401 East 3rd Street Muscatine IA 52761 319-263-7741
Conesville City Hall 306 3rd Street Conesville IA 52739 319-725-4217
Durant City Hall 402 6th St Durant IA 52747 563-785-4451
Fruitland City Hall 104 Sand Run Road Fruitland IA 52749 563-264-1748
Muscatine City Hall 215 Sycamore Street Muscatine IA 52761 563-264-1550
Muscatine County Clerk 401 East 3rd Street Muscatine IA 52761 563-263-6511
Nichols City Hall 429 Ijem Avenue Nichols IA 52766 319-723-4424
Unity Healthcare Public Health 1609 Cedar Street Muscatine IA 52761 563-263-0122
West Liberty City Hall 409 North Calhoun Street West Liberty IA 52776 319-627-2418
Wilton City Hall 104 West 4th Street Wilton IA 52778 563-732-2115
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Muscatine County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Muscatine County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.