Search for Louisa County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Louisa County Marriage License 117 South Main Street Wapello IA 52653 319-523-5361
Columbus City City Hall 2512 Philadelphia Street Columbus IA 52737 319-728-2412
Columbus Junction City Hall 232 2nd Street Columbus Junction IA 52738 319-728-7971
Grandview City Hall 104 S MAIN St Grandview IA 52752 319-729-4013
Letts City Hall 125 North Cherry Street Letts IA 52754 319-726-3251
Louisa County Clerk PO Box 268 Wapello IA 52653 319-523-4541
Morning Sun City Hall 11 E Division St Morning Sun IA 52640 319-868-7936
Oakville City Hall 601 2nd Street Oakville IA 52646 319-766-2981
Wapello City Hall 335 North Main Street Wapello IA 52653 319-523-4091
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Louisa County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Louisa County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.