Search for Monona County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Monona County Marriage License 610 Iowa Avenue Onawa IA 51040 712-423-2575
Castana City Hall 103 Pine Street Castana IA 51010 712-353-6747
Mapleton City Hall 513 Main Street Mapleton IA 51034 712-881-1351
Monona County Clerk 610 Iowa Avenue Onawa IA 51040 712-423-2491
Moorhead City Hall 100 Oak Street Moorhead IA 51558 712-886-5211
Onawa City Clerk 914 Diamond Street Onawa IA 51040 712-433-1181
Rodney City Hall 219 Main Street Rodney IA 51051 712-889-2210
Soldier City Hall 108 Oak Street Soldier IA 51572 712-884-2266
Soldier Town Hall 108 Oak Street Soldier IA 51572 712-884-2266
Ute City Hall 130 East Main Street Ute IA 51060 712-885-2237
Whiting City Clerk 605 Whittier Street Whiting IA 51063 712-455-2414
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Monona County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Monona County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.