Search for Johnson County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Johnson County Marriage License Johnson County Recorder's Office, Administration Building, 913 S Dubuque St Iowa IA 52240 319-356-6093
Coralville City Hall 1512 7th Street Coralville IA 52241 319-248-1700
Hills City Clerk 201 North 1st Avenue Iowa IA 52245 319-679-3197
Hills City Hall 90 1st Street Hills IA 52235 319-679-2507
Iowa City City Hall 410 E Washington St Iowa IA 52240 319-356-5000
Iowa City Clerk 410 East Washington Street Iowa IA 52240 319-356-5043
Johnson County Clerk PO Box 2510 Iowa IA 52244 319-356-6060
Johnson County Health Department 855 South Dubuque Street Iowa IA 52240 319-356-6040
Lone Tree City Hall 123 North Devoe Street Lone Tree IA 52755 319-629-4615
North Liberty City Hall 3 Quail Creek Cir North Liberty IA 52317 319-626-5708
Oxford City Hall 205 North Augusta Avenue Oxford IA 52322 319-828-4742
Swisher City Hall 66 2nd St SW Swisher IA 52338 319-857-4539
Tiffin City Clerk 201 Main St Tiffin IA 52340 319-545-2572
Tiffin City Hall 201 Main Street Tiffin IA 52340 319-545-2572
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Johnson County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Johnson County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.