Search for Shelby County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Shelby County Marriage License 1313 Industrial Parkway Harlan IA 51537 712-755-5640
Defiance City Hall 206 Main Avenue Defiance IA 51527 712-748-3431
Earling City Clerk Office 117 Main Street Earling IA 51530 712-747-2181
Elk Horn City Clerk 2027 Washington Street Elk Horn IA 51531 712-764-5514
Elk Horn Town Hall 4212 Main Street Elk Horn IA 51531 712-764-5512
Harlan City Hall 711 Durant Street Harlan IA 51537 712-755-5137
Irwin Town Hall 504 Ann Street Irwin IA 51446 712-782-3333
Shelby City Hall 419 East Street Shelby IA 51570 712-544-2404
Shelby County Clerk of Court 612 Court Street Harlan IA 51537 712-755-5543
Shelby County Health Department 1313 Industrial Parkway Harlan IA 51537 712-755-2609
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Shelby County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Shelby County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.