Search for Pocahontas County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Fonda City Hall 104 2nd Street Fonda IA 50540 712-288-4466
Gilmore City City Hall 304 South Gilmore Street Gilmore IA 50541 515-373-6326
Havelock Town Hall 858 Wood Street Havelock IA 50546 712-776-2738
Laurens City Hall 272 North 3rd Street Laurens IA 50554 712-841-4526
Palmer City Hall 316 Richart St Palmer IA 50571 712-359-2430
Plover Town Hall 301 Main Plover IA 50573 712-857-3532
Pocahontas City Hall 23 West Elm Avenue Pocahontas IA 50574 712-335-4841
Pocahontas County Clerk 99 Court Square Pocahontas IA 50574 712-335-4208
Rolfe City Hall 319 Garfield Street Rolfe IA 50581 712-848-3124
Varina City Hall 107 Main St Varina IA 50593 712-288-6233
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Pocahontas County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Pocahontas County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.