Search for Warren County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Warren County Marriage License 301 North Buxton Street Indianola IA 50125 515-961-1089
Carlisle City Hall 195 North 1st Street Carlisle IA 50047 515-989-3224
Cumming City Hall 649 North 44th Street Cumming IA 50061 515-981-9214
Hartford City Hall 150 West Elm Street Hartford IA 50118 515-989-0267
Indianola City Hall 714 West Detroit Avenue Indianola IA 50125 515-961-9422
Lacona City Hall 103 East Main Street Lacona IA 50139 641-534-4608
Martensdale City Hall 380 Iowa Ave Martensdale IA 50160 641-764-2622
Milo City Hall 100 Main Street Milo IA 50166 641-942-6241
Norwalk City Hall 705 North Ave Norwalk IA 50211 515-981-0228
Warren County Clerk of Courts 115 North Howard Street Indianola IA 50125 515-961-1033
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Warren County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Warren County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.