Search for Dallas County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Dallas County Marriage License 801 Court Street Adel IA 50003 515-993-5804
Adel City Hall 301 S 10th St Adel IA 50003 515-993-4525
Bouton City Hall 110 West 1st Street Bouton IA 50039 515-676-2091
Dallas Center City Hall 1502 Walnut Street Dallas Center IA 50063 515-992-3725
Dallas County Clerk 801 Court Street Adel IA 50003 515-993-5816
Dawson City Clerk 208 South 1st Street Dawson IA 50066 515-428-9490
De Soto City Hall 405 Walnut Street De Soto IA 50069 515-834-2233
Dexter City Hall 911 State Street Dexter IA 50070 515-789-4210
Granger City Hall 1906 Main Street Granger IA 50109 515-999-2210
Minburn City Clerk 315 Baker Street Minburn IA 50167 515-677-2245
Perry City Clerk 1102 Willis Avenue Perry IA 50220 515-465-2481
Redfield City Hall 808 1st Street Redfield IA 50233 515-833-2512
Van Meter City Hall 505 Grant Street Van Meter IA 50261 515-996-2644
Waukee City Hall 230 Hickman Road Waukee IA 50263 515-987-4522
Woodward City Hall 108 East 1st Street Woodward IA 50276 515-438-2560
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Dallas County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Dallas County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.