Search for Guthrie County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Guthrie County Marriage License 205 North 5th Street Guthrie Center IA 50115 641-747-3412
Bagley City Hall 207 Main Street Bagley IA 50026 641-427-5600
Guthrie Center City Clerk 102 North 1st Street Guthrie Center IA 50115 641-332-2190
Guthrie County Clerk 200 North 5th Street Guthrie Center IA 50115 641-747-3415
Jamaica City Hall 316 Main Street Jamaica IA 50128 641-429-3026
Menlo City Hall 417 Sherman Street Menlo IA 50164 641-524-4201
Panora City Hall 102 Northwest 2nd Street Panora IA 50216 641-755-3035
Stuart City Hall 119 E Front St Stuart IA 50250 515-523-1455
Yale City Hall 207 Main St Yale IA 50277 641-439-2313
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Guthrie County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Guthrie County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.