Search for Butler County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Butler County Marriage License 428 6th Street Allison IA 50602 319-267-2735
Allison City Hall 410 North Main Street Allison IA 50602 319-267-2245
Aplington City Hall 409 10th Street Aplington IA 50604 319-347-2425
Aredale Town Hall 102 East Main Street Aredale IA 50605 641-894-3441
Bristow Town Hall 716 West St Bristow IA 50611 641-775-3262
Butler County Clerk 428 6th Street Allison IA 50602 319-267-2487
Clarksville City Hall 115 West Superior Street Clarksville IA 50619 319-278-4531
Dumont City Clerk 625 1st Street Dumont IA 50625 641-857-3411
New Hartford City Hall 503 Packwaukee Street New Hartford IA 50660 319-983-2548
Parkersburg City Hall 608 Iowa 57 Parkersburg IA 50665 319-346-2262
Shell Rock City Clerk 303 South Cherry Street Shell Rock IA 50670 319-885-6555
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Butler County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Butler County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.