Search for Grundy County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Grundy County Marriage License 706 G Avenue Grundy Center IA 50638 319-824-3234
Beaman City Clerk 227 Main Street Beaman IA 50609 641-366-2894
Conrad City Hall 204 East Center Street Conrad IA 50621 641-366-2300
Dike City Hall 540 Main Street Dike IA 50624 319-989-2291
Grundy Center City Hall 703 F Avenue Grundy Center IA 50638 319-825-6118
Grundy County Clerk 706 G Avenue Grundy Center IA 50638 319-824-5229
Grundy County Health Department 704 H Avenue Grundy Center IA 50638 319-824-6312
Reinbeck City Hall 414 Main Street Reinbeck IA 50669 319-788-6404
Stout City Hall 204 Main Street Dike IA 50624 319-346-2763
Wellsburg City Hall 505 North Washington Street Wellsburg IA 50680 641-869-3342
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Grundy County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Grundy County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.