Search for Lyon County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Lyon County Marriage License 206 South 2nd Avenue Rock Rapids IA 51246 712-472-2381
Doon City Clerk 100 3rd Avenue Doon IA 51235 712-726-9303
George Clerk 120 S Main St George IA 51237 712-475-3612
Inwood City Clerk 103 S Main St Inwood IA 51240 712-753-4833
Larchwood City Hall 909 Broadway Street Larchwood IA 51241 712-477-2366
Lester City Clerk 501 N Thomas St Lester IA 51242 712-478-4411
Little Rock City Hall 402 Main Street Little Rock IA 51243 712-479-2852
Little Rock Old Town Hall 301 Main Street Little Rock IA 51243 712-479-2436
Lyon County Clerk 206 South 2nd Avenue Rock Rapids IA 51246 712-472-8530
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Lyon County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Lyon County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.