Marshall County Marriage Licenses

Search for Marshall County IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Marshall County Marriage License 1 East Main Street Marshalltown IA 50158 641-754-6355


Albion Town Hall 107 South Main Street Albion IA 50005 641-488-2244

Clemons City Hall 108 Main Street Clemons IA 50051 641-477-8070

Ferguson Town Clerk 235 2nd Avenue Ferguson IA 50078 641-478-3260

Gilman City Clerk 128 North Main Street Gilman IA 50106 641-498-2531

Gilman Town Hall 128 North Main Street Gilman IA 50106 641-498-2531

Laurel City Hall 104 E Market St Laurel IA 50141 641-476-3226

Le Grand City Clerk 104 West Main Street Le Grand IA 50142 641-479-2464

Liscomb Town Hall 114 Main Street Liscomb IA 50148 641-496-5419

Marshall County Clerk 17 East Main Street Marshalltown IA 50158 641-754-1603

State Center Clerk 118 Main St E State Center IA 50247 641-483-2559

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order

3. Cost/fees: $35

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony

8. License Valid: Does not expire

9. Waiting Period: 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: Yes

Questions/Answers about Marshall County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.

How do I get a marriage license in Marshall County, Iowa?

You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?

A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.

How old do you have to be to get married in Marshall County?

You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.