Keokuk County Marriage Licenses

Search for Keokuk County IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Delta City Hall 104 North 2nd Street West Delta IA 52550 641-624-2061


Hedrick City Hall 109 North Main Street Hedrick IA 52563 641-653-4914

Keokuk County Clerk 101 South Main Street Sigourney IA 52591 641-622-2210

Keota City Hall 309 East Broadway Avenue Keota IA 52248 641-636-2266

Keswick City Hall 124 South Irons Street Keswick IA 50136 319-738-2621

Richland City Hall 109 Richland Street Richland IA 52585 319-456-2511

South English City Hall 407 Ives Street South English IA 52335 319-667-2715

What Cheer City Clerk 308 South Barnes Street What Cheer IA 50268 641-634-2590

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order

3. Cost/fees: $35

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony

8. License Valid: Does not expire

9. Waiting Period: 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: Yes

Questions/Answers about Keokuk County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.

How do I get a marriage license in Keokuk County, Iowa?

You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?

A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.

How old do you have to be to get married in Keokuk County?

You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.