Search for Floyd County IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Floyd County Marriage License 101 South Main, Courthouse Charles IA 50231 641-257-6154
Floyd City Hall 617 Monroe St Floyd IA 50435 641-398-2857
Floyd County Clerk 101 South Main Street Charles IA 50616 641-228-7777
Floyd County Health Department 1003 Gilbert Street Charles IA 50616 641-257-6111
Greene City Hall 123 N 2nd St Greene IA 50636 641-816-4631
Marble Rock City Hall 105 Main Street North Marble Rock IA 50653 641-315-2621
Nora Springs City Hall 45 North Hawkeye Avenue Nora Springs IA 50458 641-749-5315
Rockford City Hall 206 West Main Avenue Rockford IA 50468 641-756-3718
Rudd City Hall 402 Chickasaw Street Rudd IA 50471 641-395-2760
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Floyd County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Floyd County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.