Search for Fayette County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Fayette County Marriage License 114 North Vine Street West Union IA 52175 319-422-3687
Arlington City Clerk 755 Main Street Arlington IA 50606 563-633-2345
Clermont City Clerk 220 North Industrial Parkway West Union IA 52175 563-422-3234
Clermont City Hall 505 Larrabee Street Clermont IA 52135 563-423-7295
Elgin City Hall 212 Main St Elgin IA 52141 563-426-5998
Fayette County Clerk of Court 114 North Vine Street West Union IA 52175 563-422-5694
Fayette County Health Department 200 West Jefferson Street West Union IA 52175 563-422-3875
Hawkeye City Clerk 104 S 2ND St Hawkeye IA 52147 563-427-4830
Maynard City Clerk 135 3rd Street South Maynard IA 50655 563-637-2269
Oelwein City Hall 20 2nd Avenue Southwest Oelwein IA 50662 319-283-5440
St Lucas City Clerk 101 W MAIN St St. Lucas IA 52166 563-778-2737
Wadena City Hall 136 South Mill Street Wadena IA 52169 563-774-2875
West Union City Hall 612 Iowa 150 West Union IA 52175 563-422-3320
Westgate City Clerk 104 North Cass Street Westgate IA 50681 563-578-3258
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Fayette County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Fayette County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.