Search for Pottawattamie County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Pottawattamie County Marriage License 227 South 6th Street Council Bluffs IA 51501 712-328-5612
Avoca City Clerk 201 North Elm Street Avoca IA 51521 712-343-2424
Carson City Hall 127 Broadway Street Carson IA 51525 712-484-3636
Carter Lake City Clerk 950 East Locust Street Carter Lake IA 51510 712-347-6320
Carter Lake City Hall 950 East Locust Street Carter Lake IA 51510 712-347-6320
Council Bluffs City Hall 209 Pearl St Council Bluffs IA 51503 712-328-4601
Council Bluffs Health Department 209 Pearl Street Council Bluffs IA 51503 712-328-4666
Crescent City Clerk 102 West Florence Street Crescent IA 51526 712-545-3981
Hancock Town Hall 207 North Main Street Oakland IA 51560 712-741-5665
Macedonia City Hall 322 Main Street Macedonia IA 51549 712-486-2323
Minden City Hall 207 Main Street Minden IA 51553 712-483-2991
Neola City Hall 105 3rd Street Neola IA 51559 712-485-2307
Oakland City Hall 101 North Main Street Oakland IA 51560 712-482-6811
Oakland City Town Clerk 101 North Main Street Oakland IA 51560 712-482-6811
Pottawattamie County Clerk-Court 227 South 6th Street Council Bluffs IA 51501 712-328-5604
Treynor Town Hall 7 South Eyberg Avenue Treynor IA 51575 712-487-3787
Underwood City Hall 218 2nd Street Underwood IA 51576 712-566-2373
Underwood Town Hall 218 2nd St Underwood IA 51576 712-566-2373
Walnut City Clerk 229 Antique City Drive Walnut IA 51577 712-784-3443
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Pottawattamie County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Pottawattamie County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.