Search for Winnebago County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Winnebago County Marriage License 126 South Clark Street Forest IA 50436 641-582-4520
Buffalo Center City Clerk 201 2nd Avenue Southwest Buffalo Center IA 50424 641-562-2505
Forest City Hall 305 North Clark Street Forest IA 50436 641-585-3574
Lake Mills City Hall 105 West Main Street Lake Mills IA 50450 641-592-3251
Leland City Hall 316 Walnut Street Leland IA 50453 641-567-3330
Rake City Town Hall 101 Grace Street Buffalo Center IA 50424 641-566-3735
Thompson Clerk 167 2nd Avenue Thompson IA 50478 641-584-2785
Winnebago County Clerk 126 South Clark Street Forest IA 50436 641-585-4520
Winnebago County Health Department 216 S 4th St Forest IA 50436 641-585-4763
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Winnebago County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Winnebago County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.