Search for Buchanan County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Buchanan County Marriage License 210 5th Avenue Northeast Independence IA 50644 319-334-4259
Brandon City Hall 400 NORTH St Brandon IA 52210 319-474-2335
Buchanan Clerk-District Court 210 5th Avenue Northeast Independence IA 50644 319-334-2196
Buchanan Health Department 1600 1st Street East Independence IA 50644 319-332-0860
Fairbank City Clerk 116 Main Street East Fairbank IA 50629 319-635-2869
Hazelton City Hall 111 3rd Street North Hazleton IA 50641 319-636-2559
Hazleton City Clerk 111 3rd Street North Hazleton IA 50641 319-636-2559
Independence City Hall 331 1st Street East Independence IA 50644 319-334-4711
Jesup City Hall 531 Prospect Street Jesup IA 50648 319-827-1732
Lamont City Clerk 644 Bush Street Lamont IA 50650 563-924-2194
Quasqueton City Hall 113 Water Street North Quasqueton IA 52326 319-934-3301
Winthrop City Clerk 354 W Madison St Winthrop IA 50682 319-935-3317
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Buchanan County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Buchanan County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.