Search for Crawford County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Crawford County Marriage License 1202 Broadway Denison IA 51442 712-263-3643
Crawford County Clerk 1202 Broadway Denison IA 51442 712-263-2242
Denison City Hall 111 North Main Street Denison IA 51442 712-263-3143
Kiron City Hall 12 North Grove Street Kiron IA 51448 712-675-4700
Manilla City Hall 443 Main Street Manilla IA 51454 712-654-2632
Schleswig City Clerk 111 2nd Street Schleswig IA 51461 712-676-3361
Vail City Hall 215 Main Street Vail IA 51465 712-677-2210
Westside City Hall 131 Main Street Westside IA 51467 712-663-4493
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Crawford County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Crawford County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.