Search for Palo Alto County IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Palo Alto County Marriage License 1010 Broadway Street Emmetsburg IA 50536 712-852-3701
Ayrshire City Hall 1502 Silver Lake Avenue Ayrshire IA 50515 712-426-3510
Curlew Town Hall 209 Main St Curlew IA 50527 712-855-2448
Graettinger City Hall 104 Cedar Avenue Graettinger IA 51342 712-859-3742
Mallard City Hall 605 Inman Street Mallard IA 50562 712-425-3527
Palo Alto County Clerk 1010 Broadway Street Emmetsburg IA 50536 712-852-3603
Ruthven City Clerk 1305 Gowrie Street Ruthven IA 51358 712-837-5355
Ruthven City Hall 1305 Gowrie Street Ruthven IA 51358 712-837-5355
West Bend City Hall 301 S Broadway Ave West Bend IA 50597 515-887-2181
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Palo Alto County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Palo Alto County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.