Search for Dubuque County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Dubuque County Marriage License 720 Central Avenue Dubuque IA 52001 319-589-4434
Bernard Town Hall 268 Bernard Road Bernard IA 52032 563-879-3300
Cascade City Hall 320 1st Avenue West Cascade IA 52033 563-852-3114
Dubuque City Clerk 50 West 13th Street Dubuque IA 52001 563-589-4122
Dubuque City Hall 50 West 13th Street Dubuque IA 52001 563-589-4270
Dubuque City Health Department 1300 Main Street Dubuque IA 52001 563-589-4181
Dubuque County Clerk PO Box 1220 Dubuque IA 52004 563-589-4418
Dubuque County Health Department 13063 Seippel Road Dubuque IA 52002 563-557-7396
Dyersville City Clerk 340 1st Avenue East Dyersville IA 52040 563-589-7724
Epworth City Hall 191 Jacoby Drive East Epworth IA 52045 563-876-3320
Holy Cross City Hall 895 Main Street Holy Cross IA 52053 563-870-2475
Jamestown Town Hall 2135 Elm Street Dubuque IA 52001 608-568-3232
Luxemburg City Hall 202 South Andres Street New Vienna IA 52065 563-853-4615
New Vienna City Clerk 7271 Columbus Street New Vienna IA 52065 563-921-2295
Sherrill Town Hall 5309 South Mound Road Sherrill IA 52073 563-552-2298
Worthington City Hall 216 1st Avenue East Worthington IA 52078 563-855-2825
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Dubuque County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Dubuque County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.