Search for Cerro Gordo County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Cerro Gordo County Marriage License 220 North Washington Avenue Mason IA 50401 641-421-3056
Cerro Gordo County Clerk 220 North Washington Avenue Mason IA 50401 641-424-6431
Cerro Gordo County Health Department 22 North Georgia Avenue Mason IA 50401 641-421-9300
Clear Lake City Clerk 15 North 6th Street Clear Lake IA 50428 641-357-5267
Dougherty Town Hall 81 East Patrick Street Dougherty IA 50433 641-794-3334
Mason City City Hall 10 1st Street Northwest Mason IA 50401 641-421-3600
Mason City Clerk 10 1st Street Northwest Mason IA 50401 641-421-3604
Meservey Town Hall 428 1st Street Meservey IA 50457 641-358-6408
Plymouth City Hall 616 Broad Street Plymouth IA 50464 641-696-3363
Rock Falls City Hall 3 N Nottingham St Rock Falls IA 50467 641-696-3455
Rockwell City Clerk 114 3rd Street North Rockwell IA 50469 641-822-4906
Rockwell City Hall 114 3rd Street North Rockwell IA 50469 641-822-4906
Swaledale City Clerk 507 Main Street Swaledale IA 50477 641-995-2360
Swaledale City Hall 402 Main Street Swaledale IA 50477 641-995-2214
Thornton Town Hall 404 Main Street Thornton IA 50479 641-998-2415
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Cerro Gordo County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Cerro Gordo County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.