Search for Henry County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Henry County Marriage License 100 East Washington Street Mount Pleasant IA 52641 319-385-0765
Henry County Clerk PO Box 176 IA 52641 563-547-9206
Henry County Clerk 100 East Washington Street Mount Pleasant IA 52641 319-385-3150
Henry County Health Department 407 South White Street Mount Pleasant IA 52641 319-385-6724
Hillsboro City Hall 105 East Commercial Street Hillsboro IA 52630 319-253-4465
Mount Pleasant City Hall 220 W Monroe St Mount Pleasant IA 52641 319-385-1470
Olds City Hall 111 South Main Street Mount Pleasant IA 52641 319-254-2415
Salem City Hall 201 South Main Street Salem IA 52649 319-258-4531
Wayland City Hall 218 West Main Street Wayland IA 52654 319-256-3276
Winfield City Hall 115 North Locust Street Winfield IA 52659 319-257-6618
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Henry County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Henry County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.