Search for Washington County IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Washington County Marriage License 110 West Main Street Washington IA 52353 319-653-7727
Ainsworth City Hall 134 North Railroad Street Ainsworth IA 52201 319-657-3761
Ainsworth Town Hall 221 2nd Street Ainsworth IA 52201 319-657-3761
Brighton City Hall 100 East Washington Street Brighton IA 52540 319-694-2695
Kalona City Hall 511 C Avenue Kalona IA 52247 319-656-2310
Riverside City Hall 81 1st St E Riverside IA 52327 319-648-5241
Washington City Hall 215 East Washington Street Washington IA 52353 319-653-6584
Washington County Clerk 224 West Main Street Washington IA 52353 319-653-7741
Washington County Health Department 400 East Polk Street Washington IA 52353 319-653-7270
Wellman City Hall 316 8th Ave Wellman IA 52356 319-646-2154
West Chester City Hall 508 Main Street West Chester IA 52359 319-698-2600
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Washington County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Washington County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.