Search for Kossuth County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Kossuth County Marriage License 114 West State Street Algona IA 50511 515-295-5660
Algona City Hall 112 West Call Street Algona IA 50511 515-295-2411
Burt City Clerk 119 East Walnut Street Burt IA 50522 515-924-3618
Fenton City Hall 611 Maple St Fenton IA 50539 515-889-2887
Kossuth County Clerk 114 West State Street Algona IA 50511 515-295-3240
Lakota City Hall 204 3rd Street Lakota IA 50451 515-886-2312
Lone Rock City Hall 400 Reba Street Lone Rock IA 50559 515-925-3240
Lu Verne City Hall 109 Dewitt Street Lu Verne IA 50560 515-882-3206
Swea City City Hall 403 3rd Street North Swea IA 50590 515-272-4606
Titonka City Hall 11 Main Street North Titonka IA 50480 515-928-2850
Wesley City Hall 105 2nd St S Wesley IA 50483 515-679-4292
Whittemore City Hall 315 4th St Whittemore IA 50598 515-884-2265
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Kossuth County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Kossuth County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.