Search for Webster County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Badger City Clerk 120 1st Avenue Southeast Badger IA 50516 515-545-4514
Callender Town Clerk 415 Thomas Street Callender IA 50523 515-548-3859
Clare City Clerk 203 North Hood Street Clare IA 50524 515-546-6272
Clare City Hall 119 East Front Street Clare IA 50524 515-546-6222
Dayton City Clerk 202 1st Avenue Southwest Dayton IA 50530 515-547-2711
Duncombe City Hall 421 Main Street Duncombe IA 50532 515-543-5716
Gowrie Clerk 1206 Market Street Gowrie IA 50543 515-352-3999
Harcourt Town Hall 204 South Ash Street Harcourt IA 50544 515-354-5341
Lehigh Clerk 241 Elm Street Lehigh IA 50557 515-359-2311
Otho Town Clerk 205 North Highway Street Otho IA 50569 515-972-4441
Vincent City Hall 103 1st Street Vincent IA 50594 515-356-4365
Webster County Clerk 701 Central Avenue Fort Dodge IA 50501 515-576-7115
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Webster County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Webster County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.