Search for Dickinson County, IA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Dickenson County Marriage License 18Th & Hill Ave, Courthouse Spirit Lake IA 51360 712-336-1495
Arnolds Park City Hall 156 U.s. 71 Arnolds Park IA 51331 712-332-2341
Dickinson County Clerk 1802 Hill Avenue Spirit Lake IA 51360 712-336-1138
Lake Park City Hall 217 North Market Street Lake Park IA 51347 712-832-3527
Milford City Hall 806 N Avenue Milford IA 51351 712-338-2741
Okoboji City Hall 1322 Highway 71 N Okoboji IA 51355 712-332-2550
Superior City Hall 111 7th Street Superior IA 51363 712-858-4528
Terril City Hall 118 North State Street Terril IA 51364 712-853-6227
Wahpeton Town Hall 1201 Dakota Drive Milford IA 51351 712-337-3522
1. Apply where: Country Registrar or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, one for the license and two for the marriage ceremony
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Iowa, both members of the couple must visit a County Registrar or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, the absent party can sign the application before a Notary Public. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You will also need to bring one witness who is over the age of 18 in order to receive a marriage license. There is a three day waiting period, and you must pick up the license within six months or it is no longer valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the Recorder's Office. A certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the couple.
How do I get a marriage license in Dickinson County, Iowa?
You will need to visit the County Registrar or Recorder's Office, with a witness over the age of 18, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Iowa?
A marriage license costs $35 in Iowa.
How old do you have to be to get married in Dickinson County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Iowa. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent and a court order to get married.